Emergency Management Careers in Yellowstone County, Montana

Emergency management services in Yellowstone County, Montana, are administered by the Yellowstone County Disaster and Emergency Services and are governed by all existing federal, state, and local laws. All emergency management services are coordinated with the Montana Coordination Plan and the Federal Response Framework.

The Yellowstone County Disaster and Emergency Services encompass the cities of Billings and Laurel and the town of Broadview, with central offices located in Billings.

Emergency management (also referred to Disaster and Emergency Services – DES) include a community wildlife protection plan, an emergency operations plan, and a pre-disaster mitigation plan.

Montana’s Disaster and Emergency Services (DES), which is part of the Department of Military Affairs, works alongside Yellowstone County’s Disaster and Emergency Services to provide training and assistance for all hazard emergencies.

There are two DES professionals working in Yellowstone County, whose job duties include:

  • Activating emergency operations
  • Coordinating responses
  • Providing public information
  • Providing emergency resolution
  • Coordinating resources for recovery
  • Coordinating with Disaster Assistance

Sponsored Content

Emergency Management Degrees and Certification

Emergency management professionals in Yellowstone County may find a number of job opportunities, provided they possess the following education and experience requirements:

  • Bachelor’s degree
  • At least 3 years of full-time experience in emergency management, practices, and development (or a combination of experience and education)
  • Knowledge of the National Incident Management System (NIMS)
  • Knowledge of emergency management coordination with local, state, regional and federal agencies
  • A current, valid driver’s license with an acceptable driving record

Many employers seek candidates for emergency management jobs who possess professional certification in one or more of the following areas:

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

The International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM)

  • Certified Emergency Manager (CEM)
  • Associate Emergency Manager (AEM)

Emergency Management Careers in Yellowstone County, Montana: Training Courses

Additional training through federal and state programs is often sought out by employers and emergency management professionals through the Montana Disaster and Emergency Services. Some of the courses offered in Yellowstone County have included:

  • Crisis Management for School-Based Incidents
  • Incident Leadership for Local Government
  • Basic Public Information Officer
  • Fundamentals of Emergency Management
  • Multi-Hazard Planning for Higher Education

Emergency Management Incidents Past and Present

Between 1950 and 2010, there were nearly 2,500 weather extremes within 50 miles of Yellowstone County, including more than 1,400 cases of hail, 55 winter storms, 62 incidents of strong wind, 85 incidents of heavy snow, 71 flood incidents, and 11 blizzards. Yellowstone County’s latest major disasters include an EF-2 tornado in 2010 and a severe drought in 2012.

Back to Top