Emergency Management Careers in Missoula County

Missoula County experienced 1,083 weather emergencies within a 50-mile radius from 1950 to 2010, from 418 incidents of hail and 113 incidents of heavy snow to 308 incidents of thunderstorm winds and 54 floods.

Many of the natural disaster emergencies in recent years were due to fires and floods, although in April 1996, a manmade disaster occurred when a train, carrying chlorine, derailed near Alberton, releasing about 100,000 gallons and resulting in one of the largest chlorine spills in U.S. history.

Sponsored Content

How to Qualify for Emergency Management Jobs in Missoula County

Emergency management jobs can be found in a number of local agencies and private companies. Individuals seeking careers in emergency management are often required to possess the following education/experience requirements:

  • Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university
  • At least 3 years of experience in emergency management, practices, and development
  • Knowledge of emergency management coordination with local, state, regional and federal agencies
  • Knowledge of the National Incident Management System (NIMS)
  • Professional Certification in one or more of the following:
    • The International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM) Certified Emergency Manager (CEM)
    • The International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM) Associate Emergency Manager (AEM)
    • FEMA Professional Development Series (PDS) Certificate
    • FEMA Advanced Professional Series (APS) certificate

Emergency Management Training in Missoula County

The Montana Disaster and Emergency Services Division of the Montana Department of Military Affairs organizes training for emergency management professionals. Just a few of the courses offered in Missoula County include:

  • Intermediate ICS for Expanding Incidents
  • FEMA Benefit Cost Analysis Training
  • All Hazard Organizational Leadership

About the Office of Emergency Management

Missoula County’s Office of Emergency Management, which also includes the City of Missoula, includes both the Missoula 9-1-1 Center and the Disaster and Emergency Services office.

The Missoula Disaster and Emergency Services’ Disaster Planning Committee (DPC) manages all of the programs associated with disaster preparedness, response, and recovery and is tasked with developing, approving and revising an Emergency Operations Plan (EOP) for Missoula County and the City of Missoula.

The Office of Emergency Management has developed a Missoula County Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan to properly deal with natural or manmade disasters and prevent the loss of life and property associated with them. The Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan includes the following:

  • Planning Process
  • Inventory of Assets
  • Hazard Profile and Hazard Assessment
  • Mitigation Plan

Back to Top