Emergency Management Careers in Fargo, North Dakota

As the largest city in the state, Fargo has a city-level emergency management office which is responsible for emergency preparedness operations primarily in the city, but also for the city of Cass, the largest suburb in the greater Fargo metropolitan area.

The City of Fargo Emergency Preparedness Office is the primary organization responsible for implementing plans during emergency situations in the city. The office is responsible for coordinating efforts with county, state and federal agencies during those times. The primary responsibility of the Fargo Emergency Preparedness division is to implement emergency response programs and efforts, but the office also provides training for emergency professionals in the area.

Sponsored Content

Emergency Management Degrees in Fargo

For the most part, emergency management degrees in and around Fargo are offered via online schooling, rather than traditional campus-based schooling. Getting an emergency management degree online has many advantages due to schedule flexibility, as well as a variety of different degrees to choose from. The major requirement for all emergency management positions with the Fargo Emergency Preparedness Division is a degree in a field related to the career. Online emergency management degrees in Fargo include the following:

  • Master’s Degree in Public Administration- Emergency Management
  • Master’s Degree of Science in Homeland Security and Emergency Management
  • Master’s Degree in Criminal Justice- Leadership and Executive Management
  • Bachelor’s of Science in Crisis Management

Common coursework for emergency management degrees can include the following subjects:

  • Emergencies, disasters and catastrophes
  • Disaster response
  • Disaster recovery
  • Disaster mitigation
  • Spatial analysis in emergency management
  • The socio-behavioral aspects of emergency management

Emergency Management Certifications and Training in Fargo

Another core requirement when obtaining an emergency management career in Fargo is the successful completion of a training program, and emergency management certification. Training is provided by the Fargo Emergency Preparedness Division, but can also be obtained through the North Dakota Emergency Management Association (NDEMA.) Certification is received upon completion of the training courses. In North Dakota, there are three levels of certification that can be obtained.

Level I Certification: This type of certification is given to people that have at least one year of professional experience in the emergency management field. Courses in this level of certification focus mainly on decision making skills, management skills and the basic fundamentals of emergency management theory.

Level II Certification: This certification is only available to people that have at least three years of experience in emergency management. The coursework at this level focuses on intermediate skills like plan development and integration and implementation of those plans during times of emergencies.

Level III Certification: This certification is only offered to professionals that have five years of experience in the field, as well as attendance at at least two NDEMA conferences in the last three years. Coursework for this certification focuses on the most advanced concepts of emergency management, which includes citizen preparedness, mitigation and the handling of hazardous materials, among many other subjects.

Back to Top